I Do

This weekend marked the beginning of wedding season (for me at least) with a trip a few hours into the interior of Florida for the first in a long string of weddings.  Most of the invitations I have received (so far) are from friends and family completely unconnected to one another, so I thought I could buy one perfect dress to wear to all the weddings.  As i dragged myself from one dreary dress department to another I realized that while one dress would work wonders at an art museum it would fall flat in a garden. 

What to do? Surf the closet for some repeat wears (and get one new dress just to feel better about the headache I received from the bad lighting at the local mall).

Watching loads of drunk guests bust a move on the dance floor I finally began to realize how little thought people put into their wedding day ensambles. Yeah, yeah, yeah, it’s supposed to be all about the bride but I can only assume that same bride doesn’t want to see a family friend in the dress she wore to her great aunts 80th birthday in photos for years to come. 

charlotteronson-floralsjill-stuart-tuxcoatannasui-cardi

Charlotte Ronson, Jill Stuart, Anna Sui

  Banquette halls are notoriously cold so you may end up looking like this model from the Jill Stuart runway in an over-sizedtux jacket (yes, chic at the moment), or you can get smart with a sweet matching cardi like the one Anna is showing off.

I love each of these girl’s hair for a wedding too.  Nothing too fussy, leave that to the bride and her attendants.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

